Newest recipients of Nuneaton and Bedworth Community awards revealed

Mason Moore | Hinckley Reporter | 12 November 2022

THE LATEST recipients of the Nuneaton and Bedworth Community Awards have been revealed.

Nuneaton Town Hall, Coton Road (Image: Google Street View)

The first is Colin Tyres, who was a former presenter of Anker Radio, which is Nuneaton’s hospital radio station. Mr. Tyres presented at the community radio station for 42 years until he retired last year (2021).

He was handed a community medal and official certificate at a council meeting in mid-October (19 October), to mark his hard work and service to the local community throughout that time.

The second recipient is Ms. Mamta Dewan Subba, who was honoured for her work in teaching English to members of the Nepalese community, supporting the Gurkha Veterans Association, as well as various charitable works for the wider Nuneaton and Bedworth community.

Speaking on the awards being handed out, Coun. Clare Golby (Con, Arbury), who serves as Deputy Leader of Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council, said: “We have some fantastic champions in our communities and it’s a pleasure, and very humbling, to be able to honour people in this way.

“Both Mr. Tyres and Ms. Subba have given years of service to our communities, and they quite richly deserve these accolades.

“I would like to sincerely thank them for their service on behalf of the residents of Nuneaton and Bedworth.’’

Leave a Reply